We are flexible. Currently the ambassadors work with masks, disinfectants and flyers to inform about corona and protection measures.

Health through education

Health care for the population is rather poor and, especially outside the cities, completely inadequate. Only 1/4 of all doctors work outside the capital Dakar. Senegal is facing great structural challenges: For example, access to drinking water or sanitary facilities is limited or not guaranteed in many places.

We are convinced that some of the country's existing problems can be solved through fundamental educational work. For instance, early sexual education can not only prevent teenage pregnancies but also help to contain sexually transmitted diseases. At the same time, passing on knowledge about hygiene measures, such as the correct washing of hands, can prevent infections.

Every year in Senegal 116,000 girls become pregnant before finishing school.

Lack of education and the tabooing of sexuality are significant factors  for the high number.. Teenagers find it difficult to obtain information about safe contraception. The result is a large number of unwanted pregnancies and school drop-outs, which form the beginning of a vicious circle.

Together with Elena EDM, we have to date trained 208 young Senegalese as voluntary health ambassadors (HA) - another 100 are on their way.

In this project young Senegalese people are trained as volunteer health ambassadors according to a concept that was developed in cooperation with the Senegalese Ministry of Health, US-Aid and UNICEF. After the training, the young ambassadors pass on their knowledge in their own community as well as in rural areas by giving free seminars. The training lasts at least two weeks and is conducted by trained members of our partner association. In the meantime we have trained 208 HA. So far each HA has held at least ten seminars and reached an average of 15 people per seminar. So far we have been able to reach more than 40,000 people. Currently another 100 HA are being trained to enable a nationwide awareness campaign. 

You want to know more about the HAs and their work? On our social media channels there are regular updates with photos and news. Feel free to contact us by email if you have any questions.

GB stellen sich vor
4 GesundheitsbotschafterInnen stellen sich vor

Patron of the project: Prof. Claudia Schmidtke, MdB

contact details

Postfach 11 11 56
23521 Lübeck

Deutschland

Phone: +49 175 889 899 1

Email: info@future-edm.com

Follow us on
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
Newsletter

©2020 by Future EDM

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

Wir passen uns an. Aktuell sind die BotschafterInnen mit Masken, Desinfektions-mittel und Flyern unterwegs, um über Corona und Schutzmaßnahmen zu informieren.

Gesundheit durch Bildung

Die Gesundheitsversorgung der Bevölkerung ist sehr schlecht und vor allem außerhalb der Städte völlig unzureichend. Nur 1/4 aller ÄrztInnen arbeiten außerhalb der Hauptstadt Dakar. Der Senegal steht vor großen strukturellen Herausforderungen: So ist der Zugang zu Trinkwasser oder Sanitäranlagen in vielen Orten nur beschränkt oder gar nicht gewährleistet.

Wir sind davon überzeugt, dass durch eine grundlegende Aufklärungsarbeit einige bestehende Probleme des Landes gelöst werden können. So kann eine frühzeitige sexuelle Aufklärung nicht nur Jugendschwangerschaften verhindern, sondern auch dazu beitragen, dass sexuell übertragbare Krankheiten eingedämmt werden. Gleichzeitig kann die Weitergabe von Wissen zu Hygiene-Maßnahmen, wie dem richtigen Händewaschen, Infektionen verhindern.

Jedes Jahr werden im Senegal 116.000 Mädchen vor der Beendigung der Schule schwanger.

Mangelnde Aufklärung und die Tabuisierung von Sexualität sind Ursachen dafür. Teenager kommen nur schwerlich an Informationen über sichere Verhütung. Die Folge ist eine Vielzahl von ungewollten Schwangerschaften und Schulabbrüchen, die den Anfang eines Teufelskreises bilden.

Gemeinsam mit Elena EDM haben wir bis heute 208 senegalesische Jugendliche zu ehrenamtlichen GesundheitsbotschafterInnen (GB) ausgebildet - weitere 100 sind auf dem Weg.

In diesem Projekt werden junge SenegalesInnen nach einem Konzept, welches in Zusammenarbeit mit dem senegalischem Gesundheitsministerium, der US-Aid und UNICEF ausgearbeitet wurde, zu ehrenamtlichen GesundheitsbotschafterInnen ausgebildet. Daraufhin geben die Jugendlichen das Wissen in ihrer Gemeinde und in ländlichen Gebieten des Senegals in kostenfreien Seminaren weiter. Die Ausbildung dauert zwei Wochen und wird von geschulten Mitgliedern unseres Partnervereins durchgeführt. Mittlerweile haben wir 208 GB ausgebildet. Bisher hat jeder GB mindestens zehn Seminare abgehalten und erreichte im Schnitt pro Seminar 15 Menschen. Somit konnten wir bisher mehr als 40.000 Menschen erreichen. Aktuell werden weitere 100 GB ausgebildet, um so eine landesweite Aufklärungskampagne zu ermöglichen. 

Du willst mehr über die GBs und ihre Arbeit erfahren? Auf unseren Social Media Kanälen gibt es regelmäßig Updates mit Fotos und Neuigkeiten. Gerne kannst du dich bei Fragen per Email an uns wenden.

GB stellen sich vor
4 GesundheitsbotschafterInnen stellen sich vor

Schirmherrin des Projektes ist Prof. Claudia Schmidtke, MdB

Kontakt

Postfach 11 11 56
23521 Lübeck

Deutschland

Telefon: +49 175 889 899 1

Email: info@future-edm.com

Folge uns auf
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
Newsletter

©2020 by Future EDM

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon